Multimedia Journalism : Joe Weiss

Weblog for the advancement of multimedia storytelling. Compiled by Joe Weiss.
About Joe | RSS | Atom

Wednesday, July 31, 2002

Faces of China :: The New York Times

Friday, July 26, 2002

Poynter.org - From MSNBC to NYC, a Gathering Storm

Email Q&A between Poynter's Kenny Irby and MSNBC's former director of multimedia Brian Storm.

Thursday, July 25, 2002

Video essay: A Navy family

Roger Richards / The Virginian-Pilot

Also see this piece at poynter.org on Richards and convergence.

Monday, July 22, 2002

Postcards from the Road

In "Postcards from the Road", News & Observer photojournalist Scott Sharpe captures a glimpse of North Carolina's past and present. Traveling across the state, he often finds the heart of North Carolina epitomized in the everyday life of small towns and communities.

This month's feature is on Boy Scout Camp.

Sunday, July 21, 2002

:: The Monks of Wat Carolina ::

From Mark Adams and Randall Hill of The Sun News in Myrtle Beach, S.C.

Friday, July 19, 2002

National Geographic Out There TV: Multimedia

Thursday, July 18, 2002

heraldsun.com: Reinventing Ground Zero

Flash with Cold Fusion database for interactive poll.

Tuesday, July 16, 2002

The New York Times: Multimedia

NYTimes.com now has a standalone page for multimedia content. Interestingly, their "Photo page" is now absent.

MSNBC :: Searching for Peace

An older piece, but I liked the "swap" feature.
By Ashley Wells with Meredith Birkett at MSNBC.com

Monday, July 15, 2002

New York City : After the Fall

Friday, July 12, 2002

heraldsun.com: Tent revival raising spirits

From Dave Cone, multimedia intern at The Herald-Sun.

Crossing the Line | Ruth Fremson | The New York Times

Living in Fear | Rina Castelnuovo | The New York Times

The latest "Photographer's Journals" from the NYTimes.com.

(free registration required)

Thursday, July 11, 2002

America the Beautiful

From startribune.com - audio and stills in Flash 6.

Wednesday, July 10, 2002

Storm leaves MSNBC.com

"It has been a stressful and bittersweet decision, but the time has come for me to leave MSNBC.com. My last day will be August 2nd.

Iíll be working in New York City as Vice President of News & Editorial Photography at Corbis, a digital media agency owned by Bill Gates."


Brian Storm, Director of Multimedia, MSNBC.com
via email

Tuesday, July 09, 2002

CNN.com

I am posting this not because of the quality of the story, but more for a look at the abilities of this plugin.

Requires the Cult 3-D plugin

Friday, July 05, 2002

KODAK: KODAK e-Magazine: Sleeping Giants

Wednesday, July 03, 2002

Video: The Life of a Trauma Doctor | The New York Times on the Web

Tuesday, July 02, 2002

Inside Nothing

Net Art from Born Magazine.

colors magazine
From Benetton.

Issues that struck me as inventive ...
#47 Madness
#49 Tours

Monday, July 01, 2002

Macromedia - Flash : White Paper
436 million users - and a rapid jump in the users with the flash 5 plugin. Maybe now I'll start exporting to flash 5.